Drunk Driving Accident Attorney
Drunk driving is the act of operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs resulting in the impaired ability to drive. A blood alcohol level of 0.08 is the legal limit in the United States and depending upon the body weight and sex of the drinker, this limit is easily reached by consuming just one drink or two.
Even though drinking is a socially acceptable form of behavior in our society, driving under the influence of alcohol often results in great costs to individuals and to society. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration reports that drunk drivers injure more than 250,000 people every year in the United States. In fact, 31% of all motor vehicle traffic accidents involve alcohol or drugs and the cost to society is a staggering $132 billion annually.
A first time offense for drunk driving in the state of Texas is punishable by a minimum of a 72 hour jail confinement, a 90 day suspension of your driver’s license, and a fine up to $2,000. While the penalties for drunk driving are severe and go up exponentially with each re-occurrence of drunk driving, the laws that are meant to punish the drunk drivers don’t necessarily help the victims of drunk driving.
Who Will Help the Victims of Drunk Driving?
If you have been injured by a drunk driver, you have the right to sue for your injuries and for your property damage. There are many good reasons to file a lawsuit, such as you suffered injuries that required medical treatment or continuing treatment. Or your medical bills have not been paid. Or your car had to be repaired or replaced. Perhaps you lost time at work and continue to lose time. Or maybe you are just having trouble coping and feel traumatized by the accident and would like to seek professional counseling. These are all very good reasons to file a claim for compensation.
It is important to be mindful of the time limit to file a lawsuit known as the statute of limitations. In the state of Texas, the statute of limitations expires in two years: that means you have to file a claim within two years of the date of the accident – otherwise your right to file a lawsuit will be lost.
Call Zinda Law Group
If you have been injured as a result of a drunk driver, or a loved one has been killed, the attorneys at Zinda Law Group can help you get the compensation that you deserve. Our qualified attorneys can help, so why not call (800) 863-5312 to speak with an attorney today. The call is free and so is the consultation.