Sentences for Drunk Driving in Dallas

It is no secret that drunk driving is extremely irresponsible and dangerous and is one of the leading causes of car accidents. Part of the reason the United States government takes drunk driving so seriously is because drunk drivers endanger themselves as well as everyone else on the road. Not all drunk driving cases are the same, though. In fact, DUI may be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony.

There are a variety of factors that contribute to the severity of a DUI penalty, including:

  • The presence of children
  • The driver's Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC)
  • Speed
  • Injuries sustained by other drivers

In most states, DUI cases are considered "extreme" if the driver is found operating a vehicle with an unusually high BAC. In all fifty states, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a BAC higher than .08%. In Texas, DUI charges and penalties may be increased if the driver operated a motor vehicle with a BAC or .15% - nearly twice the legal limit.

FIRST TIME OFFENDERS

If a driver is caught driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in the state of Texas, his/her license will be suspended for at least 90 days. If the driver's BAC is high (.15% or more) or the driver refuses to submit to a breathalyzer test, the license may be suspended for 180 days. In Texas, first time DUI offenders may be sentences up to $2,000 in fines, one year of probation, and 180 days of jail time.

Subsequence Offenses

If a driver is caught driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol a second or third time, the court may enact much stricter sentencing. The driver may have to pay exorbitant fines and spend time in prison. In Texas, ignition interlock devices, which only allow the motorist's care to start after he/she has passed a breathalyzer test, are required if the driver has been arrested for DUI before.

Zinda Law Group Can Help

If you or a loved one has been injured by a drunk driver, call the experienced Dallas personal injury lawyers of Zinda Law Group at (800) 863-5312 for a 100% free consultation about your legal rights and options to pursue compensation.