El Paso Rideshare Lawyers
Call (800) 863-5312 to Speak with Personal Injury Lawyers for Free
Ridesharing has changed how we get around. Uber and Lyft are convenient and easy, especially in large cities and for people without vehicles. However, Uber and Lyft drivers still get into accidents. If you have been in a crash with a ridesharing company, it is important you understand how pursuing a claim against a rideshare company driver is different than a traditional car accident.
If you or a loved one has been in an accident with Uber or Lyft, call Zinda Law Group at (800) 863-5312 for a 100% free case evaluation with our El Paso personal injury attorneys. Our team has years of experience handling automobile accident claims. We are ready to help you.
Who is Liable in a Rideshare Accident?
Ridesharing apps are still new, and the legal system is still figuring out how to deal with them. This creates uncertainty in what will happen in a ridesharing accident lawsuit. It is difficult to name either Uber or Lyft as the defendant in a lawsuit.
Uber and Lyft drivers are independent contractors, not employees. Because of this, the company is not always responsible for the driver’s actions. If you wish to bring a claim after an accident, it might be easier to sue a driver, instead of the company. However, Uber and Lyft both have liability insurance coverage for its drivers, which can make seeking damages from an accident easier.
How are Rideshare Accidents Different?
Both Uber and Lyft have insurance policies on their drivers. However, both companies use a three-part insurance plan. The coverage that applies is based on the driver’s activity at the time the accident occurred.
1. Driver Mode is Off/Driver is Not Available: If the driver is not available to accept requests from rides in the app at the time of the accident, the Uber or Lyft policy does not apply. Instead, the driver’s personal policy covers him or her. You will have to negotiate with the driver’s personal insurance company.
2. Driver Mode is On, but no Rider/Available but No Passenger – If the driver is available on the app and ready to pick up passengers, but is not currently carrying a passenger at the time of the accident, the primary insurance is generally the driver’s own insurance policy. However, Texas law requires rideshare companies to provide coverage whenever the app is on, even if the driver is not carrying a passenger. In Texas, rideshare insurance is required to cover $50,000 for bodily injury for each person involved in an accident, with a $100,000 total liability per accident, and property damage coverage up to $25,000 per accident.
3. Ride Accepted/Available and Carrying Passenger – When an Uber or Lyft driver is carrying a passenger, the $1 million policy kicks in. It covers the driver, passenger, and an injured third party, up to $1,000,000 for injury, death, and property damage.
Get Help from Our Experienced Personal Injury Lawyers
While ridesharing is already beginning to feel “old” to customers, it is still a very new issue for courts. Determining your rights after being in an accident with a rideshare driver is complicated. If you are injured in an accident involving Lyft or Uber, it may be beneficial to speak to an attorney.
The attorneys at Zinda Law Group want to make the process as easy as possible for you. Our personal injury attorneys have helped thousands of victims seek justice and the compensation they deserve. If you or your loved one has been injured in an accident, contact us at (800) 863-5312 for a free consultation and learn how we can help.
Meetings with attorneys are available by appointment only.