Temple Traffic Accident Lawyers
You've just become involved in a car accident and now you're a statistic. Every year, there are about six million car accidents in the United States. About 40% of them involve alcohol; about 30% of them are caused by speeding. You've decided to file a claim against the driver who was at fault. What should you know and where do you begin?
Texas is a "fault" state, meaning a driver who causes an accident has to pay for it. In a "no fault" state, the insurance company will take care of minor injuries for its own policyholders no matter who caused the accident.
All drivers in Texas must carry a stated minimum amount of insurance. That includes:
* $30,000 per person for bodily injury
* $60,000 per accident for bodily injury involving two people
* $25,000 per accident for property damage
These amounts cover medical and property damage bills as well as other costs that may occur due to the accident. Without the minimum coverage in Texas, anyone judged at fault in an accident may be subject to fines and other penalties.
If you decide to go to court against the driver who caused your injuries to sue for medical costs, pain and suffering, and/or property damage, you have two years from the date of the accident to begin the process. The claim is filed in a branch of the state's civil court system.
With some minor accidents, it may be relatively easy and uncomplicated to settle the claims between the two parties involved. However, in any case that involves more serious injuries or auto damage claims, you are advised to contact a Temple traffic accident lawyer as soon as possible. Traffic accident lawyers in the state are familiar with the laws that regulate these types of injuries and can assure your rightful compensation for personal injury and damage to your property. A lawyer can also protect your rights in the event that the at-fault driver tries to list you as the person at fault. Protect yourself and call our Temple traffic accident lawyers today at 800-863-5312.