have you been injured by a drunk driver? If so, contact Zinda Law group’s Aurora Dram Shop lawyers AT (800) 863-5312 TODAY
Driving while intoxicated is extraordinarily dangerous and may result in serious injuries, or even death, to yourself or others. Unfortunately, many individuals choose to drink and drive every day. If you have been injured by someone who was drinking, Zinda Law Group’s Aurora dram shop lawyers are here to guide you through your potential personal injury case.
If you were injured by someone who was overserved at a bar or restaurant, you may need to call an Aurora drunk driving accident lawyer at Zinda Law Group. Our expert team investigates cases involving bar liability for drunk driving, and we can help you file your case in the pursuit of the maximum amount of compensation available.
For a free legal consultation with a dram shop lawyer serving Aurora, call 800-863-5312
what are aurora dram shop laws?
In general, if you are injured in a drunk driving motor vehicle accident, you would need to file a claim against the intoxicated driver. In certain situations, however, you may also be able to bring a claim against the person or vendor who overserved the drunken driver. These circumstances are typically referred to as “dram shop” cases or claims.
These laws are relevant to such questions as “Can I sue a bar?” or “What is the bar liability for alcohol injuries?” Further, these laws will change depending on your state, so it is important to contact an experienced Zinda Law Group attorney in your area to discuss your specific case.
Under Colorado law, the licensed alcohol vendor is not responsible for the actions of their intoxicated patrons, unless it can be proven that:
1. The alcohol vendor willingly and knowingly provided alcohol to an individual who was younger than 21 years old, or
2. The alcohol vendor willingly and knowingly provided alcohol to an individual who was visibly intoxicated.
The following scenario would possibly meet these stipulations: Bartender Ben knows that customer Catie is only 17 years old but he chooses to serve her alcohol anyway. Catie subsequently gets into a car accident with another person on her way home. Ben’s establishment may be liable for the damages caused by Catie.
Further, Colorado law includes a social host provision. Under this provision, a social host is not liable for the actions of their intoxicated guests unless it can be proven that:
1. The social host knowingly served alcohol to an individual who was younger than 21 years old, or
2. The social host knowingly provided an underaged individual a place to consume alcohol.
This means that a social host is not responsible for the intoxicated actions of individuals above the age of 21, even if the social host understands that the guest is visibly intoxicated. This changes, however, when the guest is under the age of 21. In the situation is one where the social host provided alcohol to a minor, he or she can be held liable for the damages caused by the intoxicated minor.
If you have any other questions regarding Aurora dram shop laws, including what the bar liability for drunk driving is, contact a skilled attorney at Zinda Law Group as soon as possible. Our team has the experience and knowledge to discuss your potential case and help you determine whom you can sue.
Dram Shop in Aurora lawyers near me 800-863-5312
drunk driving facts and statistics
It is the unfortunate truth that people choose to drive while intoxicated every day in the United States. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, approximately 32 people die in drunk driving motor vehicle accidents every day. In 2020 alone, driving while intoxicated led to 11,654 deaths.
In order to reduce these losses, each state in the country has adopted a minimum drinking age of 21 and has further made it illegal to drive with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of .08 grams of alcohol per deciliter (g/dL) of blood or higher. At .08 g/dL, the driver’s muscle coordination becomes poor, it is harder for the driver to detect danger, and his or her judgment, self-control, reasoning, and memory are negatively affected.
In addition, motorcycle operators involved in fatal crashes were found to have had the highest percentage of alcohol-impaired drivers when compared to the operators of any other type of vehicle in 2020. Within this group, individuals aged 45 to 49 were the most likely age group to be killed in drunk motorcycle accidents.
Driving while intoxicated is not only dangerous, but it is also considered a dangerous crime. The charges from drunk driving range from misdemeanors to felony offenses. Further, the penalties may include the revocation of your driver’s license, expensive fines, or even jail time. For instance, a first-time offense may cost the driver up to $10,000 in fines and related legal fees.
For these reasons, you should never drink and drive, or get into a vehicle where the driver has been drinking. If you must get somewhere in Aurora after a night drinking, contact a sober friend, or use a ride-share app, such as Uber, to pick you up. Furthermore, if you were involved in a motor vehicle accident and believe the other driver was overserved alcohol at a bar or restaurant, contact one of Zinda Law Group’s skilled Aurora dram shop lawyers as soon as possible to discuss your potential claim.
what do i do after being injured in a drunk driving accident?
Being in a motor vehicle accident can be a traumatizing event, especially when you have been seriously injured. These accidents can also cause significant emotional distress and leave you feeling lost and confused. Although each case is different, it is important to follow the relatively simple steps outlined below in order to stay safe and strengthen your future drunk driving accident claim in Colorado.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
1. Move to Safety and Seek Medical Attention
If you were involved in a minor accident, such as a fender bender, you should move the vehicle out of the flow of traffic or to the safest nearest location. In a more serious accident, exit your vehicle if possible and move to a safe location.
You should then seek immediate medical attention for all serious injuries. This is important, as your injuries may become worse if you fail to treat them properly.
Even minor injuries should be treated, as they may be masking more serious concerns. Further, a medical professional will be able to properly document all of your injuries, as well as their costs. Documenting your injuries will prove important in determining compensation amounts in your future personal injury claim.
2. Report the Accident to Local Aurora Law Enforcement
Next, you should contact local law enforcement to report the accident. Local law enforcement, such as the Aurora police, will be able to investigate the scene of the accident and create an official police report, dictating the facts of the accident. It is crucial to access and maintain a copy of this police report for use in your future claim.
3. Document the Scene of the Accident
Documenting the scene of the accident is the next important step. First and foremost, write down every detail you can remember regarding how the accident took place and what happened immediately following the accident. You may use your phone’s notepad application to write down if you observed the other driver swerving or driving in the wrong direction on a one-way street, for example.
Next, take pictures of the scene. This includes all of your injuries, property damage, and any street signs or lights. Shoot the photos from all different angles, including every detail, as they may be useful in determining liability and fault.
Lastly, you should get and maintain certain pieces of information. This includes the name and contact information of all other drivers, the names and contact information of any witnesses, the license plate numbers of all vehicles involved, and the insurance information of all other drivers.
4. Contact an Aurora Drunk Driving Accident Attorney
At this point, you may need to contact one of Zinda Law Group’s Aurora dram shop lawyers in order to begin your lawsuit. One of our team members can help gather evidence, communicate with witnesses, speak to insurance companies, calculate what your case may be worth, and negotiate on your behalf. Ultimately, hiring the right attorney at Zinda Law Group will help you acquire the maximum amount of information available in your specific case.
Knowing what to do following a motor vehicle accident can protect yourself, others, and your future personal injury claim. If you have any other questions regarding the steps to take following a motor vehicle accident, contact an Aurora drunk driving accident lawyer at Zinda Law Group as soon as you can. Our team is available to speak with you any time of the day, so do not hesitate to call.
COMMON MOTOR VEHICLE ACCIDENT INJURIES
Motor vehicle accident types can vary dramatically, causing a wide array of injuries and damages. For example, a fender bender with two slow-moving vehicles may only result in minor property damage, whereas a head-on crash with two vehicles going 80 miles per hour may result in life-threatening physical injuries, emotional trauma, and expensive car repair fees. Examples of the different kinds of motor vehicle accident injuries include, but are not limited to:
- Broken bones or fractures
- Spinal cord injuries
- Traumatic brain injuries, such as concussions
- Post-traumatic stress disorder
- Loss of life
After being involved in an accident where the other driver had been overserved alcohol at a bar or another establishment, contact an attorney at Zinda Law Group as soon as you can. Our experienced team can help determine who was at fault for your accident and whether dram shop laws apply, but we need time to investigate.
how long do i have to file a drunk driving case in Colorado?
Before filing any kind of personal injury case, you will need to know the statute of limitations. The statute of limitations is the legal time limit in which you have to file a case. This time limit will vary from case to case and from state to state, so it is in your best interest to contact an Aurora drunk driving accident lawyer at Zinda Law Group immediately following your accident to discuss the statute of limitations in more detail.
As mentioned, the statute of limitations may be different depending on the state in which you are filing your claim. In Colorado, you typically have two years to file your personal injury claim. There is a caveat to this general rule, however, when your case involves a motor vehicle.
In this case, you will have up to three years to file your claim. Thus, if you were harmed by a drunk driver on January 1, 2022, you will have until January 1, 2025, to file your claim. This time limit is extremely important, as you may be barred from receiving any compensation if you fail to file your case on time.
The three-year time limit discussed above will apply to the drunk driver. If, however, you choose to utilize Aurora dram shop laws and bring a claim against an alcohol vendor, you will only have one year to do so.
These time periods will move very quickly. It is important, therefore, to contact an experienced Aurora drunk driving accident attorney at Zinda Law Group as quickly as you can. We can help answer any questions you have regarding your specific incident and help you file your case on time.
If you need an Aurora drunk driving accident attorney, contact zinda law group as soon as possible to discuss your potential case
Have you been injured in a drunk driving motor vehicle accident and find yourself asking what the bar liability for alcohol injuries is? If so, you may need more information regarding Aurora dram shop laws. These laws may allow you to file a claim against the business or entity which overserved the drunk driver so that you may collect compensation for your various injuries.
Our skilled team of Aurora drunk driving accident lawyers at Zinda Law Group can help you pursue the maximum amount of compensation available for your physical injuries, emotional distress, property damage, and more. Our attorneys are dedicated to fighting on your behalf for your legal rights.
You can reach our Aurora dram shop lawyers at (800) 863-5312. Your initial consultation is 100% free and you do not pay us anything unless we are successful in winning your case. That is our “No Win, No Fee Guarantee.”
Meetings with attorneys are available by appointment only.